Skip to Main Content

President’s Writing Awards

President Robert Kustra and Award Winner

 The President’s Writing Awards Committee is pleased to announce the winners of its 35th annual awards season. 

Honorarium, Art Design:

Brooke Cassity

Creative Nonfiction:

First Place: John Barrie Richard Spencer is a Friend of Mine
Second Place: Sheri Grow “On Being Schooled”


First Place: Dillon Haws They Shall Inherit the Earth
Second Place: Pania Seeley “Night Blindness”

Critical Analysis:

First Place: Lex Nelson Shakespeare’s Yosemite: The Forest of Arden in As You Like It
Second Place: Kirby Carlson “The Professional Veneer Versus Revelation”

Multilingual First-Year Writing:

First Place: Eva Kanneberger “Motherhood”
Second Place: Nitya Bhargavi Nukala “How Stereotypes Helped Me to Understand Myself”


First Place: Dillon Haws Pentad
Second Place: Lex Nelson Breakfast for Two

First-Year Writing:

First Place: Stephanie Hamilton-Rubio Si Se Puede, Si Lo Haremos: Yes We Can, Yes We Will
Second Place: Kim Dueno “What the Phage?”


First Place: Alex Knudson “The Father of the String Quartet”
Second Place: Jenna Farmer “Effects of Nutrient Availability on Growth Rate and Carrying Capacity of Lemna Minor”

Civic and Ethical Foundations:

First Place: Tiffani Goodell “Value-Based Ethics: Why I Voted Independent in the 2016 Presidential Election”
Second Place: Jordan Hartmann “Advocating for Adolescence”

Thank you to all who entered!

Check out the winning submissions from years past by clicking here

Feel free to contact us with any questions at