Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu

About Government Relations

Boise State University Government Relations, located in the President’s Office, coordinates legislative and advocacy efforts with federal, state, and local government offices.  Government Relations works to build and strengthen relationships throughout Idaho and Washington, D.C. and ensures that university priorities are represented.

Federal Relations require coordinating the activities of the university on matters relating to the federal government and Congress. In this capacity Government Relations serve as the liaison between the university and members of the Idaho congressional delegation, congressional committees, and federal agencies.  All federal relations issues are coordinated closely with the Boise State University Vice President for Research and Economic Development’s Office.

State Relations duties include coordinating the activities of the university on matters relating to its state financial support and legislative policy initiatives. In this capacity staff members work with the Governor’s Office, the Idaho Legislature, as well as state agency Directors and staff to advance Boise State University’s priorities.  Government Relations also monitors and assesses impacts of state policy changes as well as coordinates public and private events with government officials.

Local Government Relations involve serving as the liaison between local government and the university. Government Relations staff work to foster good relations and open communication with local governments, civic and community-based organizations such as chambers of commerce, and the local business community.  Staff members are responsible to monitor local ordinances, programs and proposals, and direct the university’s engagement in local government events and activities.

Boise State Day at the Capitol Event Photo

2015 Boise State Day at the Capitol

Boise State University’s educational service areas as designated by the State Board of Education policy III.L.3 include: Ada, Adams, Boise, Canyon, Elmore, Gem, Owyhee, Payette, Valley, and Washington counties.